Turn On The Bright Lights

Train Station, Malvern

“Light is creation. Darkness is the space necessary to create.”
― Erica Jasmin Cartaya

LIVE

It isn’t enough to simply inhabit –

to suck up oxygen and take up space

while entangled in a safety net

of familiarity and status quo.

Comfort must be exchanged for growth.

—-

It isn’t useful to recoil from what terrifies –

the roller coaster ride, the cross-country flight,

the big audition, the high dive,

the first date, the big mistake.

At least you learned.

—-

Complacency could never breed

the satisfaction that only stems

from fears faced down and disquietude engaged.

The thrill is in the reaching.

The victory lies in the fact that you tried.

—-

Failure is measured in minutes passed

and the rise and fall of ocean’s tide

without the stretching and strengthening

of your body, will, and mind.

To remain stagnant is to die.

—-

I’d rather go for broke, crashing and burning

a path to extremes of experience and consciousness.

Test me, bend me, let me be unnerved

so I don’t look through ordinary eyes.

As I walk among the dead, let me be alive.

—-

Writing LIVE

I’d like to take a minute to thank all of you – from around the world – who have taken the time to read my blog.  I cannot tell WHO reads (you remain anonymous)…I can only see the number of readers, and what country the view comes from.  But to EACH of you, whoever you are…THANK YOU.  Sincerely.  I share my creations with the world for free.  I create for the purpose of creating — because I have to, because it is the only way I want to live.  But if anyone reads and enjoys these thoughts and creations, it is an honor.

Thank you to readers in each of these countries who stopped by my blog this year:

  United States FlagUnited States 20,931
United Kingdom FlagUnited Kingdom 545
France FlagFrance 329
Germany FlagGermany 279
Canada FlagCanada 245
Australia FlagAustralia 191
Italy FlagItaly 163
Israel FlagIsrael 142
Denmark FlagDenmark 125
Mexico FlagMexico 119
Brazil FlagBrazil 109
Indonesia FlagIndonesia 88
Austria FlagAustria 87
Sweden FlagSweden 79
Spain FlagSpain 76
Argentina FlagArgentina 61
Poland FlagPoland 60
Netherlands FlagNetherlands 58
Turkey FlagTurkey 51
Malaysia FlagMalaysia 48
Russian Federation FlagRussian Federation 48
Singapore FlagSingapore 48
Belgium FlagBelgium 47
Chile FlagChile 47
India FlagIndia 44
New Zealand FlagNew Zealand 38
Japan FlagJapan 35
Switzerland FlagSwitzerland 34
Thailand FlagThailand 33
Hungary FlagHungary 33
Taiwan, Province of China FlagTaiwan 32
Romania FlagRomania 32
Ukraine FlagUkraine 31
Finland FlagFinland 30
Czech Republic FlagCzech Republic 30
South Africa FlagSouth Africa 29
Norway FlagNorway 27
Hong Kong FlagHong Kong 27
Philippines FlagPhilippines 26
Portugal FlagPortugal 26
Korea, Republic of FlagRepublic of Korea 26
Peru FlagPeru 23
Greece FlagGreece 23
United Arab Emirates FlagUnited Arab Emirates 22
Ireland FlagIreland 21
Saudi Arabia FlagSaudi Arabia 19
Pakistan FlagPakistan 19
Croatia FlagCroatia 15
Georgia FlagGeorgia 15
Colombia FlagColombia 12
Iceland FlagIceland 12
Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of FlagMacedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic 12
Slovakia FlagSlovakia 12
Ecuador FlagEcuador 11
Venezuela FlagVenezuela 9
Costa Rica FlagCosta Rica 7
Malta FlagMalta 7
Morocco FlagMorocco 7
Serbia FlagSerbia 7
Egypt FlagEgypt 6
Bulgaria FlagBulgaria 6
Bangladesh FlagBangladesh 6
Honduras FlagHonduras 5
Tunisia FlagTunisia 5
Puerto Rico FlagPuerto Rico 5
Kuwait FlagKuwait 5
Moldova, Republic of FlagMoldova 5
Luxembourg FlagLuxembourg 5
Iraq FlagIraq 5
Estonia FlagEstonia 5
Slovenia FlagSlovenia 4
Panama FlagPanama 4
Jordan FlagJordan 4
Palestinian Territory, Occupied FlagPalestinian Territory, Occupied 3
Lithuania FlagLithuania 3
Bolivia FlagBolivia 3
Trinidad and Tobago FlagTrinidad and Tobago 3
Albania FlagAlbania 3
Qatar FlagQatar 3
Nigeria FlagNigeria 3
Uruguay FlagUruguay 3
Cyprus FlagCyprus 2
Syrian Arab Republic FlagSyrian Arab Republic 2
Guam FlagGuam 2
Dominican Republic FlagDominican Republic 2
Paraguay FlagParaguay 2
Nicaragua FlagNicaragua 2
Bahrain FlagBahrain 2
Jamaica FlagJamaica 2
Bosnia and Herzegovina FlagBosnia and Herzegovina 2
Latvia FlagLatvia 2
Belarus FlagBelarus 1
Montenegro FlagMontenegro 1
Armenia FlagArmenia 1
El Salvador FlagEl Salvador 1
Mongolia FlagMongolia 1
Lebanon FlagLebanon 1
Zimbabwe FlagZimbabwe 1
Viet Nam FlagViet Nam 1
Ghana FlagGhana 1
Namibia FlagNamibia 1
New Caledonia FlagNew Caledonia 1
Sri Lanka FlagSri Lanka

I appreciate every reader.  ❤  And I can’t wait to see you guys in 2014.  It’s gonna be amazing…I can feel it.

xo, Jenn

**Poem and all photos copyright Jenn Howe, 2013

14 thoughts on “Turn On The Bright Lights

    1. Thank you, Sandy! You have so much talent as well, and there’s much I could learn from you. I hope to see you – and more of your work – again soon! xoxo 🙂

  1. Ms. H:
    Do, please, keep writing–always write.
    Life leaves its marks on us; the least that we can do is to reciprocate–vigourousy.
    Draw blood!
    Love & Regards,
    WTT

    1. Thanks again, Mike. You are always reading and commenting. It’s sad but true – you show more interest in my work than most people who “love” me and know me intimately. I appreciate it, very much. My poems/writing are very important to me. Wishing you the best in the year to come! xo, Jenn 🙂

  2. I want to stay connected to people who can lead me to art in its various forms. Part of the problem with facebook is that it turns into high school part deux, complete with cliques part deux etc. It’s horrible! Often I wish social media would completely disappear and we were back to nothing but records, telephone cabling, phone booths, film, newspaper prints. It was better then. But, there are ALSO the occasional Jennifer Howes around, thankfully, on social media!

    1. Thank you, beautiful Guy 🙂 I wish you all the best, as well. I will get to Europe someday! Also, if I ever complete my book of poems, I will have to get with you about turning it into a lovely bound edition 🙂 Cheers…xxxx

      1. Would be a complete pleasure young
        lady. I meant to message you when Mr areed passed on. May he be fabulously grumpy always, ; (wherever he may be) 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

