I Guess I’ll Pack Up My Mind

IMG_4784.JPG

For spring break 2017, I took my daughter Lana and her boyfriend Michael on vacation.

Another long road trip to Florida…

IMG_4793

IMG_4805

IMG_4796

I thought about going to California, but that is WAYYY too long to drive, and airfare for three people was a ridiculous price.

Florida has the nicest, clearest water within decent driving distance.  Besides, Lana and I are now quite familiar with the Emerald Coast.  It felt like our “home away from home” when we crossed into the area…

IMG_5009

Last time, we stayed in Destin proper, but this time, we rented a condo right on the ocean on Okaloosa Island…

IMG_4945

IMG_4943

The place was clean, affordably priced, and they even welcome pets.  It’s called Sea Oats, for anyone interested.

And did I mention it’s right on the water?…

IMG_4942

IMG_4950

IMG_5344

IMG_4954

IMG_4827

IMG_4825

Jumpin’ Jack Lana.

Inside the condo…

IMG_4811

IMG_4815

IMG_4816

IMG_4818

IMG_4819

IMG_4823

We each had our own bathroom.  This was mine (above).

My bedroom, below:

IMG_4821

First thing we did after unpacking was unwind with a nice dinner at a restaurant on the pier…

IMG_4867

Food 8

IMG_4853

IMG_4855

Looking down through the pier (don’t jump).

IMG_4858

Sassy.

Each morning, I could be found at the same place:  on the beach with my coffee, watching the sun rise and looking for shells…

IMG_5123

IMG_5271

Shells 2

The rules are simple:  if the shell is occupied, it goes back.  No harming the sea life!  This little guy was home, so I placed him carefully back in the water.

Hello, little guy…

Shells 1

These were empty…and made beautiful additions to my collection:

Shells 3

Shells 4

Shells 5

Such bounty!  By the end of the week, I’d found so many beauties.

Shells 6

Shells 7

I’ve collected from the north Atlantic, the Gulf of Mexico, and the Caribbean Sea.  Next time I hope to hit the Pacific…or another foreign beach.

After seashell collecting time, I’d lace up my converse and hit the pavement to explore across the bridge in downtown Fort Walton…

IMG_4977

IMG_4984

IMG_5001

IMG_5133

IMG_5096

Food 3

This place (Taste, above) had amazing eats.  Speaking of amazing eats, downtown Fort Walton has plenty, including this bistro (below), where the three of us had the BEST dinner one evening…

Food 5

Also phenomenal — this Filipino restaurant…

Food 1

Dessert after lunch was always at the same place for me…

Euro Delights 1

All the eastern European chocolates and other goodies my little heart could desire.

Euro Delights 3

Euro Delights 2

ENOUGH FOREIGN CHOCOLATES TO EAT ON THEM FOR MONTHS.

Euro Delights 4

And I always hunt for THE coffee house.  Found it —  Maas Coffee Roasters.  I hit it every day, and brought some of the beans home with me.  Gold.

Maas 1

Maas 2

Maas 3

Maas 4

Maas 5

A few more great places in Fort Walton:

IMG_5130

Artesano, which has lovely, locally-made crafts and works of art.  I bought this beautiful cup (below) that was made by potter Mercedes Rodgers of Full Circle Gallery…

IMG_5421

This record store (below) is OFF THE CHAIN.  The best vintage and new vinyl collection I’ve seen in a while.  Lots of jazz, but also any other type of music you’re interested in.  Friendly owner, too.  I bought a few things here.

Jazz 1

Jazz 2

Wonderful park on the water, with a playground that Lana and Michael enjoyed…

IMG_5105

IMG_5728

After lunch and shopping in Fort Walton each day, it was time to head back to our Okaloosa Island condo and THE BEACH. 🙂

IMG_5010

IMG_5128

IMG_4830

IMG_4831

IMG_5309

Lovebirds.  ❤

IMG_5539

IMG_5537

IMG_4824

IMG_5305

I always take some goodreads with me.

Ahhhh, when that water turns emerald!

IMG_5301 (2)

In the evenings, we’d head to Destin to have an “adventure” and some dinner.  One of these exciting activities – and a first for us – was parasailing…

Parasailing Team

Meet the crew!  These are the guys who took us out into the gulf, hooked us up to our parachute, and took us up, up, and away….

Parasailing Team 2

Parasailng Boat Ride

Before we knew it, all three of us were strapped in… and about to be very surprised when a gust of wind sucked us up into the air…

Parasailing 1

Parasailing 2

Parasailing 3

Parasailing 6

Parasailing Captain

Parasailing 4

Parasailing 5

And then you’re several hundred feet in the air, looking at EVERYTHING.  It was peaceful and gorgeous.  Such a great experience.

Afterward, we had dinner at Fudpuckers, where Michael demonstrated why he is the video game king…

IMG_5039

IMG_5037

So many winning tickets.

Another evening, we went on a dolphin cruise.  I’ve been on a lot of boats, but this was our first time on a sailboat…

IMG_5243

IMG_5240

IMG_5254

IMG_5245

IMG_5263

A beautiful tour, with many dolphin sightings.

IMG_5140

The loveliest of creatures.

Okay, so two things happened when I was getting off the sailboat…1) I slipped and tripped and almost broke my neck, and 2) my wallet fell out of my bag in the process, and it went INTO THE OCEAN.

Yes, really.

My driver’s license, credit cards, EVERYTHING.  It went right into the fucking Gulf of Mexico.  😦

The good news:  it floats.

The captain of the boat went into the water and caught my wallet as it sailed off into the sunset.  I gave him the biggest tip and couldn’t say thank you enough.  My cards and money were all soggy and wet, but the day was saved, thanks to the amazing crew!  #BlessUp

On yet another evening, we headed to The Harbor Walk, where we zip-lined for the first time…

IMG_5320

IMG_5323

IMG_5319

IMG_5267

IMG_5266

IMG_5334

IMG_5333

Above:  Michael and Lana getting suited up before climbing the zip-lining tower…and both looking like “what the hell have I agreed to?” :-/

You climb the shorter tower, zip-line to the second tower – which is MUCH taller – then zip-line back down to the first tower.

Here is a view as we were climbing up the shorter tower…

IMG_5336

IMG_5338

And here I am (above) getting strapped in and preparing to be pushed off the edge.  NERVOUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Of course it was fabulous, though.  🙂  We loved it.  I have video, but it won’t post to this page.  Oh, well.  Try it if you’re in the Destin Harbor and you get a chance.

Dinner that night with these two lovelies…

Food 7

Food 6

Happy Lana and her giant hair bun.  The bun is LEGEND.

I enjoyed seeing these two kiddos smile all week.  And THEY did something for me which I did NOT expect.  They completely surprised me with a SPA DAY.  They said it was “just because” they love me and I deserve it, and they wanted to thank me for taking them on such a great trip.  They scheduled me for a facial, a pedicure, and a 50 minute full-body massage.  I’ve never had a massage in my life!  I cried…

Spa Experience 1

Spa Experience 2

Spa Experience 3

Spa Experience 4

The spa staff were amazing, and I was pampered for several hours…I felt like a queen when it was over.  I’m so thankful.  It was one of the best afternoons of my life.

So many good times, so many photos.

Here are some more random Okaloosa/Fort Walton/Destin moments…

IMG_4840

IMG_4957

IMG_4982

IMG_4983

IMG_5083

IMG_5091

IMG_5192

IMG_5312

IMG_5517

IMG_5598

Starfish 2

IMG_5033

IMG_5057

IMG_5727

IMG_5116

IMG_5156

IMG_5251

IMG_5411

IMG_4970

On the drive back home, we made a stop in Pensacola, Florida to see the lighthouse — the “Pensacola Light”.  Built in 1859, it stands over 150 feet tall, 190 feet above sea level…

IMG_5368

IMG_5377

The climb begins…

so many steps.

IMG_5375

And more steps.

IMG_5396

And yet more steps.

IMG_5394

And you have to take a break because there are so many steps.

IMG_5380

177 steps, to be exact.

FINALLY…

IMG_5381

IMG_5383

IMG_5390

IMG_5386

IMG_5388

We made it!  What a fantastic view.

IMG_5372

After the lighthouse tour, we had to say goodbye to “The Sunshine State” and head home.  😦

I’m sure going to miss the Gulf of Mexico and northwest Florida.  They were good to us.

I had an amazing time, and can’t wait to travel again.

After posting all those photos, I’m exhausted.  It’s bedtime for me…

Until the next blog,

Jenn

xo

IMG_5359

Leave a Reply

